Structure of higher education in the Netherlands

The Netherlands has two types of degree programmes:

  • Academic and research-oriented education (wetenschappelijk onderwijs, WO), traditionally offered by universities
  • Higher professional education (hoger beroepsonderwijs, HBO) traditionally offered by hogescholen or universities of applied sciences.

There are thirteen universities in the Netherlands, all largely funded by the state, of which three specialise in engineering and technology.

These three universities have formed a strategic alliance, called the 3TU Federation.

More about the education system in the Netherlands…


© 2017 TU Delft